How to Set User & Group Permissions in macOS Server

How to Set User & Group Permissions in macOS Server

Mac OS server is a server operating system initially made available for the Mac OS X for Apple. Server operating system is a type of operating system designed specifically to run on servers. It is a kind of “server version” of the original OS.

[Solved] - mds_stores Process Consuming High CPU Usage
[Solved] – mds_stores Process Consuming High CPU Usage

Mac OS server is available as an add-on for $19.99 mainly for OS X mountain Lion and Mavericks. It is an extremely useful OS for various day to day tasks. It is used to easily configure Mac and iOS devices. It enables to collaborate and host websites very easily.

How to Set User & Group Permissions in macOS Server

The user group permissions are nothing but a set of permissions which let the system know who or what is allowed to modify, create or delete your files. These permissions are purposefully meant to improve the file sharing process and more importantly restrict certain users from having admisnitrative access. This increases the overall security of your Mac OS environment.

So we have explained in easy steps how to set those permissions and achieve more control for the different types of users.

To assign permissions for users and groups, you need to go through the following steps.

  1. Select a file or folder and then go to get info
  2. If the information is not visible then click on the disclosure triangle
  3. Then click on the lock icon to unlock it
  4. Enter the administrator name and password
  5. Click on any user and choose a privilege setting from the pop up menu
  6. After that, you can grant any permission you want

These permissions are as follows

  • Read-only permission: It allows the user just to open and view the file
  • Write only permission: It allows the users to modify the file without opening it. It makes a folder into the drop box in which users can add items but can’t open it.
  • Read and write permission: Allows a user to do both of the above tasks
  • No access: It blocks all the access from the user

Setting permissions is always a convenient way to control the amount of access any user gets in case you are worried about the security. This feature is also available in other OS platforms such as in Windows and Linux but it is slightly different than in this one.